Isn't division between the craft and design is about privilege?

I am trying to brainstorm some ideas about design and crafts in this thread. There are lot of generalisations and speculations here, which means a lot of loopholes in my arguments. And I am using terms that are very loaded. I am not an expert or don’t have any background reading on this. I just want to spark a conversation.

Please jump in and provide your thinking.

There was—still is—a lot of buzz around empowering artisans and craftspeople in the design arena with the rise of design education and design as an industry in Sri Lanka. The premise that traditional crafts somehow inherently lack certain elements that needs to survive and thrive in modern world was popularised over the last decade. In this framework, the ‘lack’ is understood as something artistic and, application of design thinking—another buzzword—is seen as the solution. Design research projects, educational projects and collaborations were introduced as solutions to this issue.

Application of design thinking and design process was seen as the solution to the question of how to take crafts to the modern world. These projects often have the same structure.

1. Understanding the market and producing something that market is ready to consume.
  2. Provide access to a distribution channels and methods that an artisan by herself can not access.

It is clear that this division of the artisan and the designer is an imposed framework of thinking that was introduced with the market-driven design practise. I am pondering on the question that if the artisan and the designer both given the same privilege would there be a differentiation?

Great thoughts @pathumego.
I would like to know what do you mean by/ how do you define “privilege” in this particular context?